What is the History of the NBA?



In 1946 the Basketball Association of America (BAA) was comprised of 11 teams in two divisions. Those two divisions were Boston Celtics, Chicago Stags, Cleveland Rebels, Detroit Falcons, New York Knickerbockers, Philadelphia Warriors, Pittsburgh Ironmen, Providence Steamrollers, St. Louis Bombers, Toronto and Washington Capitols. In 1947 Baltimore Bullets joined the BAA and four teams dropped out. They were Cleveland Rebels, Detroit Falcons, Pittsburgh Ironmen and Toronto Huskies. Then in 1948 four teams from a more established National Basketball League (NBL) were added to the BAA, and they were: Ft Wayne Pistons, Indianapolis Jets, Minneapolis Lakers and Rochester Royals. In 1949 the six teams that remained in the NBL were the Anderson (IN) Packers, Denver Nuggets, Indianapolis Olympians, Sheboygan (WI) Redskins, Syracuse Nationals, Tri-Cities Blackhawks and Waterloo (IA) Hawks joined woth the new Indianapolis Olympians. The BAA became the National Basketball Association.

In 1950 six teams dropped out and they were the Anderson Packers, Chicago Stags, Denver Nuggets, Sheboygan Redskins, St. Louis Bombers and Waterloo Hawks. In 1951 the Tri Cities Blackhawks who divided home games between Moline and Rock Island (IL) and Davenport (IA) moved to Milwaukee and became the Hawks.

In 1953 Indianapolis Olympians dropped out, and in 1954 Baltimore Bullets dropped out. In 1955 Milwaukee Hawks moved to St. Louis and in 1957 Ft Wayne Pistons moved to Detroit while the Rockester Royals moved to Cincinnati. In 1960 Minneapolis Lakers moved to Los Angeles and in 1961 Chicago Packers joined the NBA as an expansion team. Chicago Packers then renamed their team to the Zephyrs in 1962 while Philadelphia Warriors moved to San Francisco.

In 1963 Chicago Zephyrs moved to Baltimore and became the Bullets while Syracuse Nationals moved to Philadelphia and became the 76ers. In 1966 Chicago Bulls joined the league as an expansion team, and in 1967 San Diego Rockets and Seattle Super Sonics joined the league as an expansion team.

In 1967 Milwaukee Bucks and Phoenix Suns joined the league as an expansion team, and St. Louis Hawks moved to Atlanta. In 1970 Buffalo Braves, Cleveland Cavaliers and Portland Trail Blazers joined the league as an expansion team, in 1971 San Diego Rockets moved to Houston, San Francisco Warriors moved to Oakland and became the Golden State Warriors. In 1972 Cincinnati Royals moved to the Midwest and divided the home games between Kansas City and Omaha and became the Kings. In 1973 Baltimore Bullets moved to Landover and became the Capital Bullets. In 1974 New Orleans Jazz joined the league as an expansion team, while the Capital Bullets renamed themselves as the Washington Bullets. In 1975 KC-Omaha Kings settle in Kansas City. In 1976 Four teams from the ABA merge with the NBA which are Denver Nuggets, Indiana Pacers, New York Nets and San Antonio Spurts. In 1977 New York Nets moved from Uniondale (NY) to Piscataway (NJ) and became the New Jersey Nets. In 1978 Buffalo Braves move to San Diego and became the Clippers. In 1979 New Orleans Jazz move to Salt Lake City and became the Utah Jazz.

In 1980 Dallas Mavericks join the NBA as an expansion team. In 1984 San Diego Clippers move to Los Angeles. In 1985 Kansas City Kings move to Sacramento. In 1988 Charlotte Hornets and Miami Heat join the NBA as an expansion team. 1989 Minnesota Timberwolves and Orlando Magic join the NBA as an expansion teams. In 1995 Toronto Raptors and Vancouver Grizzlies join the NBA as an expansion team and in 1997 Washington Bullets become the Washington Wizards.







History of the NFL

History of the NBA

History of the MLB

History of the NHL

History of the MLS